# DAS 2014 11th IAPR International Workshop on Document Analysis Systems April 7-10, 2014 Tours, France

# WORKSHOP CHAIRS

Jean-Yves Ramel, (France) Marcus Liwicki, (Germany)

# **PROGRAM CO-CHAIRS**

Jean-Marc Ogier (France) Koichi Kise (Japan) Ray Smith (USA)

### **TUTORIAL CHAIRS**

JosepLladós (Spain) Vincent P. d'Andecy (France)

### PUBLICITY CHAIRS

Venu Govindaraju (USA) Umapada Pal (India)

## SPONSORS CHAIRS

Rafael Dueire Lins (Brazil) Cheng Lin Liu (China)

### **ORGANIZING COMMITTEE**

Alireza Alaei (France)
Sabine Barrat (France)
Thierry Brouard (France)
Mathieu Delalandre (France)
Christelle Grange (France)
Nathalie Girard (France)
Muzzamil Luqman (France)
Béatrice Pawlik (France)
Romain Raveaux (France)
Nicolas Ragot (France)
Arundhati Tarafdar (France)

# **CONTACT**

http://das2014.univ-tours.fr/das2014(at)univ-tours.fr



The 11<sup>th</sup>IAPR Workshop on Document Analysis Systems will be held in Tours city, France, in April 2014. DAS'14 will build on the tradition of past workshops held in Kaiserslautern, Germany (1994), Malvern, USA (1996), Nagano, Japan (1998), Rio de Janeiro, Brazil (2000), Princeton, USA (2002), Florence, Italy (2004), Nelson, New Zealand (2006), Nara, Japan (2008), Cambridge, USA (2010) and Gold Coast, Australia (2012).

For the first time, an Industrial Program Committee will take part to the Workshop. This committee is composed of researchers coming from companies, who are very active in the DIA field and used in participating to the DAS Workshop. Each submission will then be reviewed by 2 academic researchers from the Program Committee and one researcher coming from this Industrial committee.

### WORKSHOP FORMAT

As the previous editions of the Workshop, DAS'2014 will be a 100% participation, single-track workshop with guest speakers, oral, poster, and demo sessions as well as working group discussions. The workshop proceedings will be published by the Conference Publishing Services (CPS).

# TOPICS OF INTEREST include, but are not limited to:

Algorithms for graphics recognition **Document Understanding Applications** Forensic document analysis Authoring, annotation, and presentation systems Historical document analysis Camera-based document image analysis Information extraction from document images Document analysis for the Internet Multilingual document analysis Document databases and digital libraries Multimedia document analysis Document image analysis (DIA) systems Page layout analysis Document image watermarking Pen-based user interface Document retrieval systems Performance evaluation

## KEYNOTE SPEAKERS

Prof. Andreas Dengel (DFKI Kaiserslautern - Germany) Tentative title: Document Evolution drives Document Analysis Challenges

Vladimir Rybkin (ABBYY - Character Recognition and Image Processing group). An inside look into ABBYY tools and methods.

Vincent Poulain D'Andecy (ITESOFT – France). Design and management of Document Analysis Systems

# PAPER SUBMISSION

The program committee invites the submission of original and unpublished contributions which include full (regular) papers and short (poster) papers.

- •Full (regular) papers must be accompanied by an abstract summarizing the contribution the paper makes to the field. All papers will be peer reviewed, and accepted papers will be included in the proceedings.
- •Short (poster) papers are concerned with late-breaking results or for demo presentations. Short papers may not be included in the proceedings.

Submission of a paper involves a commitment that, if accepted, one or more authors will attend and participate in the workshop.

# **IMPORTANT DATES (TENTATIVE)**

Extended deadline: October 14, 2014 (Abstract due date: 7/10/2013)

Full Paper Submission: September 30, 2013

Notification of Acceptance (full paper): December 6, 2013

Camera-Ready Papers Due: January 7, 2014 Short Paper Submission: December 20, 2013

Notification of Acceptance (short paper): January 17, 2014

### PROGRAM COMMITTEE MEMBERS

### **Academic members**

A. Antonacopoulos, University of Salford - UK

E. Barney Smith, Boise State University - USA

A. Belaid, Université de Lorraine - France

M. Blumenstein, Griffith University - Australia

M. Cheriet, University of Quebec - Canada

A. Dengel, DFKI - Germany

D. Doermann, University of Maryland - USA

A. Fischer, Concordia University - Canada

B. Gatos, IIT Demokritos - Greece

V. Govindaraju, University at Buffalo - USA

R. Ingold, University of Fribourg - Switzerland

M. Iwamura, Osaka Prefecture University - Japan

D. Karatzas, CVC - Spain

F. Kimura, Mie University - Japan

K. Kise, Osaka Prefecture University - Japan

G. Leedham, University of New England - Australia

L. Likforman-Sulem, Telecom-ParisTech - France

C.L. Liu, NLPR - China

M. Liwicki, DFKI - Germany

J. Lladós, CVC-UAB - Spain

D. Lopresti, Lehigh University - USA

R. Manmatha, University of Massachusetts - USA

S. Marinai, University of Florence - Italy

J.M. Ogier, University of La Rochelle - France

I.S. Oh, Chonbuk National University - Korea

S. Omachi, Tohoku University - Japan

U. Pal, Indian Statistical Institute - India

J.Y. Ramel, University of Tours - France

M. Rusiñol, CVC - Spain

F. Shafait, University of Western Australia - Australia

P. Shivakumara, University of Malaya - Malaysia

C.L. Tan, National University of Singapore - Singapore

K. Tombre, Université de Lorraine - France

S. Uchida, Kyushu University - Japan

# **Industrial members**

D. Bloomberg, Google - USA

M. Gillmann, Insiders Technologies GmbH - Germany

Y. Hotta, Fujitsu Laboratories Ltd - Japan

J. Hu, IBM - USA

C. Kermorvant, A2iA - France

F. Mamalet, Orange Labs R&D - France

S. Naoi, Fujitsu R&D Center Co Ltd - China

V. Poulain d'Andecy, ITESOFT - France

K. Pramod Sankar, Xerox Research - India

M.-P. Schambach, Siemens AG - Germany

R. Smith, Google - USA

V. Subramaniam, IBM - India

J. Sun, Fujitsu R&D Center Co Ltd - China

R. Unnikrishnan, Google - USA

